Chancellor's Achievement Awards for Diversity and Community

2017 Chancellor's Achievement Awardees

2017 Chancellor's Achievement Awardees

The Chancellor's Achievement Awards for Diversity and Community were established to honor achievements that contribute in substantial ways to the development and well-being of our diverse and evolving community.  UC Davis faculty, staff, and students, and local community members are eligible for an award in any of the following categories:

Exemplary service that embodies the Principles of Community through outstanding leadership in areas of social and/or cultural understanding, local or regional community involvement, and/or collaborations leading to increased knowledge or expertise in areas of special interest to the campus

Outstanding efforts toward achieving and/or advancing a diverse and principled academic community, including exemplary service in the areas of student, staff, and faculty recruitment and development

Exemplary scholarship having a major impact on community and diversity

Exemplary contributions to the success of campus-based outreach efforts

Exemplary service to the campus and/or community through active leadership, involvement in pre-college partnership initiatives, etc.

2017 Chancellor's Achievement Award for Diversity and Community Recipients

Academic Senate

Lorena B. Oropeza, Associate Professor, History

Academic Federation             

Koen Van Rompay, Professional Researcher, California National Primate Research Center

Graduate Student

Marisella M. Rodriguez, Political Science

Postdoctoral Student 

Alberto L. Aguilera, Nutrition


Katherine J. Parpana, Academic Counselor, College of Agricultural and Environmental Sciences

Honorary Service             

David A. Acosta, Associate Vice Chancellor, Office for Equity, Diversity & Inclusion, UCDHS

Department Recognition

Accounting & Financial Services

Michael Allred, Associate Vice Chancellor Finance

Rebecca Hartman, Business Office Administrative Assistant

Jennifer Carmichael, Manager

Shared Services Center

Sara Reed, Director

Megan Glide Villasenor, Operations Manager

Development & Alumni Relations

Shaun Keister, Vice Chancellor

Kari Woodard, Program Manager

Debra R. Coleman, Business Manager

2016 Recipients

Academic Senate

Edward Callahan, Associate Dean Academic Personnel, UCDHS: Medical Dean's Office

Academic Federation

Kupiri Ackerman-Barger, Assistant Adjunct Professor, UCDHS: Betty Irene Moore School of Nursing

Graduate Student

Orlando Carreon, Associate-In, Student, Language, Literacy, and Culture, School of Education

Undergraduate Student

Juli Apte, Junior, Services for International Students & Scholars, Global Affairs


Cara Harwood Theisen, Educational Specialist, Center for Educational Effectiveness

Honorary Service

Griselda Castro, Deputy Director, Office of the Provost